Rivers United Win Gov Wike Pre-season Tournament

Rivers United of Port Harcourt has won the second edition of Governor Nyesom Wike Pre-season Tournament after coming from behind to beat Bayelsa United 5-4 on penalties on Sunday. 

Bayelsa United deservedly took the lead in the 51st minute through Christian Mizo's header following a cross from Hassan Oladimeji. 

Coach Stanley Eguma made changes, bringing on Cletus Emotan, Nelson Etor and Fortune Omoniwari to change the tide of the game. 

The pride of Rivers equalised in the 78th minute through Godwin Chike which sends the game to penalties. Bayelsa United goalkeeper missed his team's last spot-kick before Rivers United goalie, Theophilus Afelokhai, scored to win the match for the host team. 

Bayelsa United were unbeaten in the competition leading to the finals, while Rivers United lost their opening match 1-0 to Lobi Stars. 

The champions Rivers, United, received a cheque of N500,000 as prize money, while first runner up, Bayelsa United received N300,000. 

In the awards category, Bayelsa United forward, Okardi Inikurogba, was awarded the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the tournament, Rivers United's Afelokhai was got the Best Goalkeeper. Following his two goals in the tournament, Stephen Ogu of MFM FC won the golden boot with three goals in the tournament, while Ottasolo FC of Lagos received the Best Team of the tournament award. 

Rivers United will start their season with a continental engagement when they face Futuro of Equatorial Guinea in the Confederation of African Football (CAF) Confederations Cup and Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) campaign with a home game against Enugu Rangers on December 6, while Bayelsa United will wait for the start of the Nigeria National League later in December.

You can share this post!

Related Posts


    No Comment Posted

Leave Comments